The Ontario Student Trustees’ Association – l’Association des élèves conseillers et conseillères de l’Ontario is proud to offer world-class professional development opportunities for Student Trustees in Ontario and across the nation. A huge takeaway for the next generation of leaders in attendance often times is OSTA-AECO’s conference keynote speakers. 

Keeping with tradition, OSTA-AECO is excited to welcome three distinguished and thought-provoking keynote speakers to the association’s 2017 Board Council Conference.

Yasir Naqvi

The Honourable Yasir Naqvi was first elected to the Ontario legislature in 2007 as the MPP for Ottawa Centre. He was re-elected in 2011 and 2014.

Naqvi currently serves as Attorney General and Government House Leader.

He has previously served as Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services. Prior to that, he was Minister of Labour, a role in which he raised the minimum wage, brought forward new protections for vulnerable workers and improved workplace safety measures. Naqvi has also been the Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Finance, the Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services, the Minister of Revenue and the Minister of Education.

Prior to his election, Naqvi was the Associate Director and International Trade Counsel at the Centre for Trade Policy and Law (CTPL). Before joining CTPL, he practiced international trade law with Lang Michener LLP and Flavell Kubrick LLP.

Naqvi is recognized by his peers as a strong community leader and an involved resident of Ottawa Centre. He sat on the Board of Directors of the Centretown Community Health Centre and has been the Co-Chair of the Capital Food Bank Blitz since 2005. To date, the food blitz has raised 275,000 pounds of food for those in need.

A first-generation Canadian, Naqvi arrived with his family in Canada in 1988 after the Pakistani government imprisoned his father for leading a pro-democracy march. Canada welcomed his family and allowed it to prosper.

Denise Siele 


Denise Siele is a multi-award earning Canadian entrepreneur and philanthropist working to make a difference for individuals and organizations.

As Equal Voice’s Director of Stakeholder and Community Relations, she manages Canada-wide efforts to get more women elected to national, provincial, territorial and municipal legislatures. Leading up to Canada 150, she has traveled the country extensively engaging parliamentarians, strategic partners and other stakeholders for Equal Voice Canada’s historic “Daughters of the Vote” national initiative which will bring 338 dynamic young women representing every political riding in Canada, to the nation’s capital to literally take their seats in Parliament.

Passionate about community giving, she has served as director of the Youth Services Bureau Charitable Foundation; chair of the Fund for a New Generation which was the single largest private donor to the Ottawa School Breakfast Program feeding 11,000 children in 148 schools; and as founder of the Vivante Fundraiser for the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario. She is currently vice-president of the Canadian Club of Ottawa; and director of the Telus Ottawa Community Board; and Algonquin College Foundation.

Denise Siele is a 2015 recipient of the Ottawa Chamber of Commerce Forty under 40 Award; 2015 Ottawa Life Magazine Top 25 People in the Capital; 2013 USA State Department’s Intentional Visitor Leadership Program alumnus; 2011 YWCA Women of Distinction Award Nominee; and recipient of the 2011 University of Ottawa Engagement, Empowerment and Success Award amount others. In 2016 she was named one of the 100 Most Accomplished Black Canadian Women.

A Dean’s List alumnus of Carleton University’s Arthur Kroeger Public Affairs and Policy Management College, Denise and her husband, Fred Sherman, are proud parents to a vibrant young son.

Pierre Poilievre 

At age 37, Pierre Poilievre is undefeated in five elections and has served for 12 years as the Member of Parliament for Nepean-Carleton (now Carleton). As the Official Opposition Critic for Work and Opportunity, he is currently a member of the Human Resources Committee, which investigates federal government programs such as employment programs, pensions, labour policies, and programs for persons with disabilities.

Prior to the last election, Poilievre served as Minister of Employment and Social Development—the largest department in the federal government—where he oversaw the successful rollout of the increased Universal Child Care Benefit. The department he led is also responsible for Old Age Security, housing, job training, Employment Insurance and poverty reduction.

In 2013, Poilievre became Minister of Democratic Reform responsible for drafting the Fair Elections Act and stickhandling it through Parliament. It cracked-down on the undue influence of money in politics, made it easier for people to vote and required they show identification before doing so.

That law built on his work as Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury Board President, wherein he helped then-Minister John Baird pass the Federal Accountability Act through Parliament. Later, he served as the Prime Minister’s Parliamentary Secretary (2008-2011), during which he co-authored the Conservative 2011 election platform, which helped the party win a majority government and led to spending reductions, tax cuts, and a balanced budget.

OSTA-AECO’s 2017 Board Council Conference comes to Ottawa, The Westin Hotel, February 16-19, 2017. The association looks forward to welcoming Ontario’s Student Trustees to deliver the world class professional development the organization has become known for, by Student Trustees, for Student Trustees.